Pyrography Woodburning Tools Review and Comparison Chart

Updated on 6/1/17

Prices listed are based on MSRP & may vary from dealer to dealer. Prices listed are based on MSR

NOTICE: All information on this page has been researched and compiled by me, Nedra Denison. I made this review chart back in 2004 for my Pyrographic Art group on Yahoo. It has been updated & expanded over the years & added to this website in 2010.

Everything on this page, as well as on this web site are copyright protected under the law. It may NOT be copied, reproduced, altered or distributed in any way without written permission from the owner, Nedra Denison.

Nibsburner prices were added 12/24/16 from their website but there is no way to order from the Nibsburner website.

Information was updated on 2/24/17 - Nibsburner items have been added back & will be updated as I get more information

Pyrography Tools Wattage Controversy

Please note that all the wattages listed below are based on the manufacturer's claims. If you have not already read the information provided on my website regarding the Click here to go to page: The Wattage controversy, mixing & matching burner & pen brands, how tip wires impact performance, etc. I highly recommend that you read it before making a purchase of Pyrography tools. Some of the information was provided to me by Colwood Electronics & Cam Merkle of Razertip Industries. Colwood explains how Pyrography tools work and Cam has provided some very good information regarding wattage, voltage and tip wire and how it impacts on quick heat recovery & ability to heat the tips hotter. The bottom line is forget about wattage & look at what is important in choosing the right burner for your needs.

Differences in Tip Wires

I have used just about every brand (except Everglades) of burner manufactured in North America. What I have found is that the tips made with 18 & 20 gauge wire (such as Razertip and Optima) heat as well as the brands that are 3 volt systems that use heavier gauge wire. If you attempt to use a 16 gauge wire on a Razertip or Optima you would definitely notice it taking longer to heat and it would not get as hot. The 18 & 20 gauge wire produces quick heat recovery and more than sufficient heat for most burning needs when used on a 2 volt system. The heavier gauge wires will not give you the fine (Razer-tip) tips or detail you can achieve with the 18 & 20 gauge wire.

So that you understand a little better I will explain using Razertip as an example. Their HD tips are 18 gauge wire and their Standard tips are made with 20 gauge wire. The 20 gauge wire can produce the smallest, finest tips available (such as the 5S & 5XS) which is needed for the very small detail work. What I discovered is when I had Nibsburner attempt to make some of these same tips was that they did not perform as well because her lightweight tip wire is 20 gauge & when trying to reproduce these tips they came out thicker and thus lost the ability to do the very fine detail work that can be accomplished with Razertip's version.

If you attempt to use a 16 gauge wire, such as Nibsburner's HD tips on a Razertip or Optima burner you would find that the tip does not heat up as much as it would on a 3 volt system. The bottom line really is that if you use tip wire that is compatible with the system they will all perform equally as well. It's when you try to mix and match burners and tips that you will run into performance problems. This is one of the reasons I always recommend using the same brand of pen as the brand of burner you own or at least match the tips designed to work on burner you own. As an example...you own a Razertip burner (2 volt system) use either Razertip tips or Optima. By doing this you will get the best performance.

Can I mix & match brands of pens & burners?

This is a question I'm constantly asked. The general answer is yes, just about any brand of pen will work on any brand of burner. Some may require an adaptor cord, others can be used without one. I was recently asked if I would guarantee if my pens would work on their burner. My response was...."the better question is would I guarantee that using my brand of pens would not burn out when used on their burner." The reason is that you stand a chance of burning out tips when you use some brands of pens using a standard tip wire on certain burners that are higher voltage & work best with tips made with heavier gauge wire.

Note that just about every brand of burner manufactured in North America can accept every brand of handpiece. You might have to use a different cord or an adpator (not recommended) but they will all accept other brands of handpieces. While some brands might say they are the only ones, it's really not true. What you need to understand is that while most brands can be mixed & matched the big question is how will handpieces & tips perform on those burners. That is why it's really best to find a burner you like & stick with that brand of pen. You are assured of compatibility.

If you decide to play the mix & match game you must consider the information above regarding tip wires & how they work with different systems. Heavier gauge wires will perform better on 3 volt systems BUT you will loose the fine detail you can best achieve with finer tip wires.

Please be sure to read this information regarding this issue: The Wattage Controversy

Shop, Compare & Ask Questions Before Buying

Keep in mind that manufacturers are going to say their burner is the best & will do more than their competitor & that they have the best customer service. The bottom line is that just about every brand will do just about anything you need in a burner, it's more a question of which brand gives you more confidence & which will meet your needs.

Having great customer service is important but if you have quality control issues & a lot of problems with your product of course you need to have good customer service to deal with the problems. It's those rare companies that have it all: good quality products, good quality control, good warranty, good reputation & good customer service. That is not as common as you might think. To me, you should expect it all & not settle for any less!!!!

Important questions I think you should be asking are: what is the warranty; how does the manufacturer handle problems & service (how long will it take to get work done, do they make you feel like a valued customer when you call); do they have good quality control (or do they have frequent problems); what's their reputation; do they offer tip styles that meet your needs; do they repair tips that break or do you have to buy a new handpiece.  A question that most users can't answer & only some dealers can or will, is...how does this brand compare to others in all of these areas? These are some good, basic questions you should be asking.

While end users, like yourself, might not be able to answer all of these questions since they might have only used one brand of burner & have nothing to compare it with. A good dealer should be able to answer most of your questions. Talking to a dealer who is also a user is very important. All too often dealers/stores have sales people who have never used some of the products they sell so they really can't tell you first hand how it performs or how the quality is.

As a dealer, I expect the companies I represent to take care of my customers. I expect them to manufacture good quality products consistently without a lot of manufacturing defects & I expect that they can provide quality products & service in a timely manner to me as well as my customers. If they fail to meet my expectations they are fired! My customers are important & that means I want to be sure they get the best quality product that is reliable & should they ever run into a problem I am confident it will be handled professionally & in a timely manner.

Don't be afraid to ask questions. This is not a small investment so you want to make the right decision the first time & not have regrets & end up needing to upgrade later. I know what that's like because I've been there & I think it's important to get it right the first time!

Some last minute things to keep in mind

OK, you’ve read all about the Wattage Controversy (If you haven't click on the link & read it). Personally, I'm not an electronics expert, electrician or engineer, but here's my own input on this issue. If you have ever tried a craft type solid point burner most of them are between 25 and 30 watts (kids version is about 18 watts)...or so they say! But, having use some that claim to be 18, 25 and 30 watts I can say that I have found the ones made in the USA that state they are 30 watts do burn hotter and they do come with a dual heat shield to protect your hands. They can burn wood almost black so as Colwood and Razertip have implied on the other page, wattage is not the issue and you shouldn't get fixated on wattage claims. They will all accomplish about the same job but I have found that burners with a 3 volt system do tend burn faster, but not better, on hard woods but you will lose the fine detail work because of the heavier gauge wire.

First I recommend buying compatible products. If you are buying a 2 volt system don’t buy pen/tips that are made for a 3 volt system & visa versa & expect them to perfform as well as they would on the system they were designed to work on. So what you really need to look at are the company's reputation, features of the wood burning systems, the pens & tips available, the price, customer service, warranty, etc. Make your choice based on all of those items and most important....what you can afford, Do not make your decision based on WATTAGE claims!!!

Craft Style Burners v.s Variable Temperature Detail Burners

Craft Style Burners are burners such as Dremel, Colwood Craft Burner, Wall Lenk & Walnut Hollow. They are intended as the name implies, for crafts. They are not intended for fine detail work. These are typically used by crafters who are not looking to do fine art...perhaps simple projects such as signs, crafts projects for kids, etc. These burners also take a lot longer to heat & cool down.

Craft style burners are one piece & plug directly into the wall. The handpieces are large & a bit cumbersom but they are typically used by younger people who feel more comfortable with larger handpieces. These are not comfortable if you intend to burn for longer periods of time.

Tips need to be screwed into the burner & the burner must be cold when inserting or removing them or you will strip the threads.

Variable temperature detail burners (ie: Colwood, Nibsburner, Optima & Razertip) are designed for people who want to do fine detail work on wood, leather, gourds & a variety of other materials. Typically these are used by people interested in doing more "artistic" work which would include fine art pictures, portraits; enhancing carvings, woodturnings, woodworking project, etc.

These burners come with a power source & separate handpieces that attach to the power unit with a cord. The handpieces are a much smaller diameter than craft burners making it much more comfortable for long term use. They have some kind of grip such as cork or foam to make it even more comfortable to use. They tend to be cooler on your hand to use & many brands come with vented handpieces. Some brands offer both fixed-tip handpieces & interchageable tips. The fixed-tip handpieces are more stury & give you better heat flow. Interchangeable can some times be a nuisance changing but they are cheaper. For carvers who frequently change tips this option is more popular but the the person doing general pyrography I usually recommend fixed-tip handpieces.

For more information on craft vs variable temperature burners go to the main Pyrography Reviews Page

About this reviews chart

This chart is for informational purposes only. It is not an endorsement for any particular brand. While I have personally used most of these over the years & have sold some of the brands the intent of this review was to provide you with some information regarding models, options & prices all in one location. Some of the comments are based on my experience using them or they have been submitted to me by other users & former students. This information is not intended as a recommendation or endorcement of any products.

About me & why I started these reviews

I started these reviews many years ago because I constantly got calls from people asking for advise. Over the years while I was teaching I had the opportunity to use every brand manufactured in North America. It was a great opportunity to see how they performed on a variety of surfaces. I also sold many of the brands at one time or another but for one reason or another I opted to drop the line. I have tried to keep these reviews unbiased & I think I've done a good job of keeping my personal opinions out of these reviews. I get a lot of feedback from former students & customers & that information is used here. Over the years I have heard from so many people that it's hard to find all the information in one place & how happy they were to find a resource that is FREE. It's nice to get feedback from your friends who love their burner but does that give you the big picture about the overall quality, quality control or the customer service of a company? The answer to that is no. Unless you talk to someone who has dealt with unhappy customers with complaints, defective products, poor customer service etc. you will only hear from your friends who are happy with their tools & have had no problems. These reviews are really not "reviews" in the sense that I make recommendations but it is a tool to help you see all the options, prices, features of the burners, where to find them,etc.It's just intended as a tool...a starting place to gather information, It is not going to tell you what YOU NEED but provide you with general inforamtion of what is out there.

People who contact me directly know that I try to be honest & up front when asked by people for recommendations based on their needs. Yes, I sell pyrography tools but no, I don't push people into buying what I sell. I try to help them find what would be best for their needs & I don't sugar coat things & in many cases I end up recommending a craft style burner vs. variable temperature burners which is all I sell now.

I am not from the "Show me state" but that's my philosophy & if you have contacted me for advise or bought from me you know that to be true. I need proof that a product is good & that a company's service is good before I tell anyone it is. If you call me I will try to be honest, not because I want you to buy the product I sell but because I want you to be happy with what you bought, whether it be from me or someone else. I won't die rich but I can look at myself in the mirror & like what I see (except for those age lines that are starting to show up)!

This section was updated on 6/1/17

Am I picky, you bet I am....& you should be too!

Thanks for stopping by & happy hunting!

Happy Burning ©,

Nedra Denison signature.

NOTICE: All information on this page has been researched and compiled by Nedra Denison. Everything on this page, as well as on this web site are copyright protected under the law. It may NOT be copied, reproduced, altered or distributed in any way without written permission from the owner, Nedra Denison.


 

ABOUT THE TOOLS REVIEWED HERE

The pyrography  systems listed & reviewed here are those that are manufactured in North America. Some of the manufacturers listed here do make units for use outside the USA. The only companies I am aware of that make European versions for some of there models are: Razertip, Burnmaster, Colwood & Optima.

Where to call for more information

If you have questions about a specific brand I have included links to the dealer or manufacturer for that particular brand if it is available. They will be happy to answer questions about the burners they make &/or sell. If you have questions about any of the information on this page please feel free to contact me.

I do not have information on pyrography tools manufactured in other countries.

About Wattage Claims

Please read the above information  BEFORE making any decision as to what burner/pens to buy.

MANUFACTURER

MODEL NUMBER

MSRP & What is included with the woodburner

prices for extra pens/tips

Prices for burners are listed with fixed-tip Pen (tip built into the Pen.

Some dealers offer discounts.

Prices were updated July 22, 2015 but are subject to change.

TYPE OF
BURNER

FEATURES

# of pen/tip styles available;

pens: grips, hot running, polished wires, grips

Adaptability with other wood burning tools

# volts/wattage (please read the information regarding the wattage controversy)

WARRANTY

COMMENTS

WHERE YOU CAN BUY

Burnmaster®

Burnmaster®   Pen

Burnmaster Pen.

$29.95

Comes with w/screwdriver and Razertip adaptor.

Wood burning pen only, Single temperature with no temperature control. Plugs into burner for control

Temperature is controlled by being plugged into a regular wood burning power supply (such as Razertip, Colwood, Nibsburner, etc.).

Accepts all hotwire burning tips including Burnmaster, Colwood, Detailmaster, Nibsburner and Razertip. No adaptor is required.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

1 year warranty against manufacturing defects

I have not received any feedback from users. If you have used this burner & can give me some feedback please contact me.

Large handle may make it uncomfortable for some people to use. Plugs into most brands of woodburners. Comes with screwdriver and a Razertip adaptor.

Burnmaster® Pen is unique in that it is the only pen to accept replaceable tips & power from all major brands of "hot wire" wood burning systems.

The Mastercarver website states that this pen is made in the USA.

www.woodcarverssupply.com

Burnmaster®

Hawk - 1 port

Burnmaster.

$143.95

w/1 cord and adaptor set. Price does not include any Pen or tips.

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

This is a 3 Volt system but the new Burnmaster systems have a micro adjustable maximum power (1-volt - 3-volts). For example the maximum
can be set to 2-volts maximum for (Razertip pen users).

Pilot light, on/off switch, temperature control. Does not come with pens but accommodates any brand of pen.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

3 years against manufacturing defects

Great burner with quick heat recovery and maintains heat; flexible cord but heavy.

Later model Burnmaster's have a micro heat adjustment to adjust the high & low settings. If your model has this option it can be found in the instructions to make the adjustment are in the manual that came with your burner.

Also available in 230 volt European version

Neither the Mastercarver or Woodcarvers Supply sites state where Burnmaster tools are manufactured but a friend of mine recently contacted Mastercarver directly & this was their response: We assemble our patented Burnmaster products in Grove City Florida.

www.woodcarverssupply.com

Burnmaster®

Eagle - 2 port

Eagle - 2 port.

$173.95

w/2 cords and adaptor sets. Price does not include any Pen or tips.

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Same as Hawk except switch to change pens.

Same as Hawk

Same as Hawk

Colwood

Craft Burner #CCB25 w/1 tip

Craft Burner.

$15.99

Includes 1 universal tip

Tip package (#CCBTP) $15.95 includes 19 tips

Single temperature craft style burner

25 watts

Accepts most screw-in style tips such as Wall Lenk brand.

unknown

This is made for Colwood by Wall Lenk (USA). Having used a Wall Lenk craft burner for years this burner should be the same fine quality as all their wood burning tools & at a very reasonable price.

Keep in mind that this type of burner is not intended for detail work.

This pen is also an excellent value for the money!

Tips are interchangeable with the Walnut Hollow and Wall Lenk. Manufactured by Wall Lenk. Burner and tips are manufactured in the USA by Wall Lenk.

www.woodburning.com

Colwood

The Cub

The Cub.

$65.75

w/HD cord. Price does not include any pens or tips.

Fixed-tip pens range from $18.40-22.40 depending on options such as foam vs cork grip & polished tips

Replaceable tips range from $12.40 ($3.00 extra for polished tips)

Polished tips $3.00 extra

Foam grip $1.00

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

 

Single output

3 volt/38-42 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

100 variations of 40 tip styles

(available in fixed-tip or interchangeable)

Pens can be ordered with foam grips & polished tips at additional cost. Pens can be adapted to most burners.

Pens can get hot at higher temperatures.

2 years on body,

90 days on cord

Cord is permanently attached to the burner & cannot be fixed or replaced.

Small, inexpensive and great for travel, perfect for the new burner on a budget but wanting a detail burner.

Manufacturer does not fix broken tips. Not always consistent on pen manufacture. Polished tips are not highly polished as some other manufacturers.

Manufactured in the USA

http://woodburning.com/

Colwood

Detailer

Detailer.

$79.75

$102.75 220v for International use only

w/1 - HD 16 gauge cord (also available w/1-18 gauge cord). Price does not include any pens or tips.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Single output

3 volt/38-42 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

2 yr. on burner

1 year on handpiece cord

90 days on Fixed-Tip Handpieces

90 days on Replaceable tips 

This is a good basic burner at a very good price. Quick heat recovery.

This model is also available in 220 volt European version

Manufacturer does not fix broken tips. Not always consistent on pen manufacture.

Foam grips & polished tips are available at extra charge. I have found that their polished tips are not highly polished like other brands but perhaps they have improved their polishing process since I used them.

Manufactured in the USA

http://woodburning.com/

Colwood

SuperPro II

SuperPro II.

$109.00

$130.50 220v for International use only

w/1-18 gauge cord and 1-16 gauge cord. Price does not include any pens or tips.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Dual output

3 volt/36-46 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

same as Detailer

A very good dual output burner at a very reasonable price. This is the burner I started out with back in the late 90's.

This model is also available in 220 volt European version

Other information same as above

Colwood

Olympiad

Colwood Olympiad with Hot Pen & Tips.

Colwood Olympiad Ultra Flex Cord.

$225.00

w/1-18 gauge cord. Price Includes hot knife & 2 tips

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Single output

3 volt/60 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

same as Detailer

A bit pricey for a single temp burner but a good burner that now has the flexibility to use a Hot knife when higher heat is needed or for heavy insertion work, sign makers, etc.

It also accomodates all Replaceable and Fixed-tip handpieces made by Colwood.

According to Colwood's website: "New to the Olympiad is the 120V 10amp receptacle located on the back of the unit that can be used to power such accessories as lamps, fans, tools, etc. Also, a 3 wire line cord for additional safety. Recently added is special circuitry that will compensate for fluctuations in line voltage".

Not available in 220 volt European version

Other information same as above

Colwood

Galaxy

Galaxy.

$190.00

w/1-18 gauge cord. Price does not include any pens or tips.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Digital Temp Control w/55 distinct temperature settings.

Single output.

Digital Temp Control w/55 distinct temperature settings.

3 volt/50 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

4 year on manufacturing defects

90 days on cord

Digital temperature control may help if you have problems with low voltage. It maintains the temperature setting.

Other information same as above

Not available in 220 volt European version

Detail Master      

.

 

NOTICE: The company is out of business.

If you need new handpieces for use on your Detailmaster burner you can use Razertip handpieces with a Detailmaster adaptor cord available on my website: Razertip burners, kits, cords & accessories

Dremel®

1550 Versatip Multipurpose w/5 Tips and stand

Great Book of Woodburning

$34.61

comes with 5 interchangeable tips

Single temperature craft style burner

Can accommodate any screw-style interchangeable tip such as those made by Wall Lenk. 1050 degrees maximum, 30 watts.

2 year warranty against manufacturing defects

Tips are interchangeable with the Walnut Hollow and Wall Lenk. These used to be manufactured by Wall Lenk. I am trying to confirm with Dremel if they still or if they are now they are made in China.

Keep in mind that this type of burner is not intended for fine detail work.

You can also find the Dremel & Wall Lenk from my Amazon Associates link in my website. Just click the link below:

Dremel Tool Kits

Everglades

Patriot PRO-1000 Single Output

Everglades Patriot 1000

$130.00

Includes: 1 fixed-tip pen, 1 cord & 1 pen holder

Arizona Gourds is the only dealer & this is the only burner option she offers.

Manufacturer only offers a 3 pen & 5 pen kit option on his ebay page. $159.95/$139.95

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Pilot light, on/off switch

65 watts

Manufacturer's Ebay page does not list whether this is a 2 volt or 3 volt system

They now offer many of the same tip styles made by other manufacturers such as the ball tips & bent spear shader.

Power Supply has a 2 year warranty: 1 year parts & labor; 2nd year parts are free

Pen has a 90 day warranty against burnout

Pen cord (60 day warranty) against defects

 

 

I have no information available about performance, service, overall quality.

If you have an Everglades burner & can give me some feedback please contact me.

Manufactuer does not have a website but he does sell on ebay.

 www.arizonagourds.com

Burner and tips are manufactured in the USA

Nibsburner

First Step
P1315

Nibsburner First Step Burner.

 

$117.95

INCLUDES:

1 Standard Cord

1 Handpiece Holder

1 Vented Woodburning FIXED TIP Handpiece with 1 Chisel (1D) Tip **OR**

1 Vented Woodburning REPLACEABLE TIP Handpiece with 1 Chisel (1D) Tip


Heat Selector Dial & On/Off Switch are together

 Power Indicator Light

Single output

3 volt/50 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pens can be adapted to most burners. When Alice was making them they required an adaptor/cord for use on Razertip or Detailmaster. Information on Welburn's website states it fits on Razertip without one but viewing them it appears they are the same as previously made.

This is a good basic entry level burner. I recommend this for children but most adults will find this disappointing.

Information taken from Nibsburner website:

"We guarantee all burners for two years from the date of purchase.

Handpieces and tips are guaranteed for 90 days from the date of purchase with normal use.

Returns must comply with this policy."

These warranties are the same.

6/1/17 Update - Mountain Woodcarvers still does not have product for sale.

While the Nibsburner website still says it's manufactured in the USA there's no way to confirm this information since most of the information on that site has not changed since Alice closed the business. Welburn's website does not say anything about where the burners are now being manufactured or that they even own Nibsburner. 

12/24/16 UPDATE: I spoke with Pam at Mountain Woodcarvers, a long time friend of Alice & Nibsburner dealer. Pam confirmed that Nibsburner was purchased by Welburn Gourd Farm. Mountain Woodcarvers & Welburn are listed as the only authorized resellers at the moment. Mountain woodcarvers has been unable to get product after months of promises so they have now listed it as "out of stock". At this point  Welburn is the only source for Nibsburner burners & they only offer 3 burner kits (1st Step, 2 others with new names)> Prices are higher than listed on Nibsburner site but they come with "FREE" gifts. At this time there is no way to order directly on the Nibsburner website nor is there any indication if or when it will ever happen.

The information I have posted in this chart is the same as what was  here previously except for pricing. The prices I have listed & what comes with each burner was obtained from the Nibsburner website although I'm not sure how accurate the prices are since it is not the same as those on Welburn Gourd Farm's website nor do they offer the burner's without their "Free" gifts.

I stopped selling Nibsburner in 2014 because of far too many complaints from customers with defective burners, cords & pens. It was getting worse as time went on & the inability to get product in a timely manner played a major role in my decision.

It is my hope that Nibsburner returns to the quality it once was. I am not from the "Show me state" but that's my philosophy & if you have contacted me for advise or bought from me you know that to be true. I need proof that a product is good & that a company's service is good before I am willing to recommend them.

I hope that whoever is manufacturing Nibsburner for Welburn has better quality control & service but at this point there is no dealer that has burners except Welburn!

At the moment it appears that the only models available are the First Step, Red Hot (Welburn calls this the "Classic") & Best of Show (Welburn calls this the Deluxe Dual Output).

NOTE:: If you have recently purchased a Nibsburner (& are NOT an employee or associated with Welburn Gourd Farm) please contact me with some feedback on the products & any other information that will help prospective buyers. As of this date I have gotten no feedback from anyone about Nibsburner.

If I get some feedback from verified customers who have purchased Nibsburner since it changed hands I will post the comments here.

mountainwoodcarvers.com

 

Gourd Unit
P1400

Nibsburner Gourd Unit Burner.


$132.95

INCLUDES:

1 Standard Cord

2 Handpiece Holders

1 FIXED TIP Handpiece With 1 Spoon Shader (SP1) Tip

1 FIXED TIP Handpiece with 1 Small Knife (KN3) Tip

Same as above

Single output

 3 volt/58 watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This a very good general purpose burner suitable for gourds, softer woods & many other surfaces

Same as above

 

Red Hot
P1339

Nibsburner Red Hot Burner.

$137.95

INCLUDES:

1 Cord

1 Handpiece Holder

1 Vented Handpiece with Chisel (1D) Tip

Heat Selector Dial & separate On/Off Switch

 Power Indicator Light

Single output

 3 volt/65 watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This a very good general purpose burner suitable for gourds, softer woods & many other surfaces

 
 

Blue Ribbon
P1381

Nibsburner Blue Ribbon Burner.

$176.95

INCLUDES:

2 Cords

2 Handpiece Holders

2 Vented Handpieces

1 Tight Round (2C) Tip and 1 Chisel (1D) Tip

Same as above

Dual output

2volt/115 watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This a very good general purpose burner suitable for gourds, softer woods & many other surfaces

Same as above

 

Best of Show
P1381B

Nibsburner Best of Show Burner.

$205.95

INCLUDES:

2 Cords

2 Handpiece Holders

2 Vented Handpieces

1 Tight Round (2C) Tip and 1 Chisel (1D) Tip

Same as above

Dual output

3 volt/145 Watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This is the only dual output burner that offers each  handpiece its own heat control that can be preset.

Same as above

Optima

Optima 1 Single

Optima 1 Single Output Burner.

$107.00/$109.00

w/1 cord & 1 pen (standard/ HD cord)

fixed-tip
pens: $20.00

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Single output

40 watts

Pens can be adapted to most burners with an adaptor cord.

34 tip styles and sizes

fixed-tip
pens only

Pens come with polished tips and foam grips.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

Lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects on power supply, cord and pen body

Pen tips are not covered.

Good burner with quick heat recovery and very flexible cords.

Some problems with slow service over the years on orders and repairs!

Pens DO NOT need to be (and should not be) annealed!

Also available in 220/240 volt European version

Manufacturers website has not been updated since 2012 so prices may not be accurate.

Manufactured in the USA

www.carvertools.com

Optima

Optima 1 Dual

Optima 1 Dual Output Burner.

$149.00/$153.00

w/2 cords & 2 pens (standard/ HD cords)

Electronic Temp Control

Dual output

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Same as above Same as above
Razertip®

SK Single Output

 Razertip SK Single Output Woodburner with HD Cord and HD5MP Fixed-Tip Pen

$163.95

w/HD cord & 1 HD pen

All handpieces are vented

HD fixed-tip
pens $32.50

Standard fixed-tip
pens $28.50

Interchangeable tips vary in price from: $6.00 - 6.25 (This does not include specialty tips such as Feather Formers)

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Pens built for a 2 volt system can get hot and may burn out when you do not use care if used on a 3 volt system.

2 volts/10 amps/30 watts

On/off switch, temperature control and pilot light

Over 800 pen tip styles and configurations.

250 tip styles & sizes (fixed-tip
pens or Interchangeable tips); wires & handle available to make your own tips.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

Pens can be adapted to most burners with an adaptor cord.

3 year unconditional on power source

1 year unconditional on pen and tip

Great burner; comfortable pens w/foam grip; quick heat recovery; new very flexible cords; 10 amp; pens can be adapted to most burners but I do not recommend using them on 3 volt systems, such as Detailmaster or older model Burnmaster systems. Please read the information above regarding the differences in tip wires made for 2 volt systems vs 2 volt systems.

Some dealers sell with different pens and cords.

Also available in 220 volt European version

Pens DO NOT need to be (and should not be) annealed!

All fixed-tip pen tips can be fixed. $5.00 charge after warranty. They will fix any brand of pen tip for $7.00

Best quality, quality control, customer service and warranty in the industry.

Manufactured in the Canada

www.sawdustconnection.com

Razertip®

SS-D10 Dual Output

 Razertip SS-D10 Dual Output Woodburner with HD & Std Cords and HD5MP Fixed-Tip Pen

$202.50

w/1 HD pen & 1 HD cord

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Dual output

Same as above but has extra low-end temperature adjustment; on/off switch, toggle to switch pens and pilot light

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Same as above

Same as above

Wall Lenk

L23WBK w/2 tips

Wall Lenk L23WBK Woodburning Tool.

$18.99

Includes: woodburning tips - WB25KT, WB25PT, and WB25ST

Single Temp

775 degrees maximum; 18 watts.

Wood handle

with single heat shield. 4 different screw-in style wood burning tips: Flow, cone, shader, universal.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

5 year on manufacturing defects

Good burner for children with supervision.

Great burners but hard to find some of the models. Wall Lenk is considered a "Craft Style Burner" & is not intended for detail work.

It is made in the USA & the best quality on the market. They also manufacture the Dremel brand & the Colwood Craft Burner. None of these are intended for fine detail work.

Not available in 220 volt European version

Wall Lenk burners & tips are Manufactured in the USA

You can also find Wall Lenk from my Amazon Associates link in my website. Just click the link below:

Wall Lenk Woodburning Tools

Wall Lenk

L25WBK w/2 tips

$25.99

Includes woodburning tips - WB25KT, WB25PT, and WB25ST

Single Temp

950 degrees; 25 watts.

Thicker plastic handle with single heat shield.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

Same tips as above

same as above

Same as above but more power. Not recommended for children

Wall Lenk

L30WBK w/4 tips

Wall Lenk L30WBK-W woodburner.

27.99

Includes: woodburning tips - WB25KT, WB25PT, and WB25ST

Single Temp

1060 degrees maximum; 30 watts.

Thicker plastic handle with a dual heat shield to protect the hand.

Handle remains cooler.

Same tips as above.

same as above

Burns hotter than others. It is a good burner for people with experience using a "Craft Style Burner". The double heat shield keeps hand from getting hot.

I've used this burner for over 10 years and love it! It does a great job of burning dark areas fast but it is NOT a detail burner.

Also available in a 10-in-1 kit with extra tips and case that is very popular and a great kit.

Other information same as above

Walnut Hollow

Creative Beginner #24911

Prices vary

with 1 point (flow) and pen stand

Single Temp

Interchangeable tips (screw) available separately: Tapered point, Universal, Mini Universal, Cone, Flow Point, Mini Flow Point, Shading, Tone n Texture.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

Per manufacturer, no warranty

750 °/120 Volts/16.5 Watts. All of the craft burners that are manufactured in China have shorter life span. Tips are thinner and not solid and tend to break more frequently.

These are "Craft Style Burners" & not intended for detail work.

The burners & tips are manufactured in China

http://www.walnuthollow.com/

Walnut Hollow

Creative Woodburner Value Burner #5570

Prices vary

w/4 points (cone, shading, universal, flow points) and stand

Single Temp

Pen tips same as above.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

same as other models

950 degrees/120 volts/25 watts;

Other information same as above

Walnut Hollow

Creative Woodburner Detailer #24414

Prices vary

with 1 point (mini flow) and stand

Single Temp

Pen tips same as above.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

same as other models

750 degrees/120 volts/16.5 watts

Other information same as above